Thursday, October 19, 2017


 The kalas are:
1) Anna Maya — these are those life forms that are born from seeds, such as members of the plant kingdom. In other words, they depend on food and become food for others higher up in the evolutionary ladder.
2) Prana Maya — with breath they exhibit signs of life, e.g. the mosquito and lice have life like any other member of the animal kingdom.
3) Mano Maya —with mind the fact that such creatures have a mind and heart which enables them to think, albeit in a primitive level. These are a little higher in the order. Examples are pigeon, parrot etc.
4) Vigyana Maya — these are the creatures that are born as embryo that develops inside the mother’s womb. Under this class come the animals such as horses, cows, dogs, elephants etc.
5) Ananda Maya — It enables a higher level of thinking ability called intelligence. The human being comes under this last category. Besides the four Kalaas mentioned above in other creatures of this category, the man has this fifth one.
The above mentioned five kalas are present in every human being. With little effort, humans can perfect in three more kalas -
6) Atishayini — this enables a person to successfully accomplish certain tasks very quickly and in a very short period of time which would be unthinkable to be completed even in the entire lifetime by an ordinary man. Such people are born prodigies and are said to be gifted with certain eclectic qualities and characters that are not normal. For example, the Adi Shankacharya, Albert Einstein.
7) Viparinabhimi —this enables the man to acquire the eight mystical powers called the Siddhis and show magical powers.
8) Sankramini —this enables a person to transfer and install his own stupendous divine and mystical powers in another person and the second person can perform deeds that he would not be able to do himself and is even stunned at his own achievements. Ex: Ramkrishna Paramhansha did something inside Vivekanada’s mind which enabled him to achieve greatness. Swami Ramdas did the same to Shivaaji Maharaj.
The other remaining eight Kalas are special and if anyone achieves even one of these he/she reaches Godhood. I love this concept of evolution of men to God, makes my belief stronger that all Gods were once men, mortals.
9) Prabhvi — this is that magical and divine power possessed by the entity that enables it to make possible things that are impossible. For example we have the manifestation of Lord Narsimha (half man and half lion incarnation of Lord Vishnu from a stone pillar to protect his devotee Prahalad from being killed by his own demon father).
10) Kunthini - this enables the entity to neutralize the any of the effects of the five elements of creation, including their bad effects. For example we have Lord Shiva who drunk the horrible poison called Halahala that emerged as a result of the churning of the ocean without letting that corroding and very potent poison from harming him.
11) Vikasini - the ability to develop, grow, expand or increase to any size, in any form and in any way one wishes. For example we have Lord Vaamana, the dwarf mendicant, who had measured the entire world in his three steps.
12) Maryadini — this is the character, attribute or quality which forces the God-head to observe and exhibit exemplary virtues of righteousness, probity and propriety in spite of his ability of doing anything it wants. It virtually ties him down or restricts him to following a strict and exemplary code of conduct that he successfully implements; these codes are difficult even for the Gods to implement. For example we have Lord Ram who led an exemplary life of righteousness, auspiciousness, probity and propriety as well as observe all the character traits and attributes that are so common with all the human beings in spite of the fact that he was an incarnation of Lord Vishnu, the almighty.
13) Sanghridini — this enables the God-head to supersede or overrule the laws of Nature and perform miracles that even defy its laws. For example, Lord Krishna had created flowers and fruits even without season.
14) Ahladini — this enables one to physically remain away but spiritually be constantly near one’s object of devotion or contemplation and serve him or her. This is the way Radha was able to enchant Lord Krishna in spite of not remaining with him at all times.
15) Paripurna — this word itself implies something that is wholesome and complete in all respects. It can therefore exhibit all the sixteen qualities or Kalaas in one go, or is the entity that embodies all these qualities in its self.
16) Swarupavasthita — this means the ability to withdraw or collect all the Kalaas exhibited by an entity and revert to its original and primary form when it is so wished by it. For example, at the end of the Dwapar Yuga, Lord Krishna had withdrawn all his Kalaas into himself before bringing to close his sojourn on this earth.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017


The contrast between the battlefield of Kurukshetra and the dance in Madhuvana is stark.

  1. War here, dance there. 
  2. Men here, women there. 
  3. Blood here, milk there. 
  4. Rage here, romance there. 
  5. Day here, night there. 
  6. Public here, secret there. 
  7. Field here, forest there. 
  8. Imminent violence here, sexual tension there.

By overturning established notions of righteousness and appropriateness related to property in the Mahabharata and related to fidelity in the Bhagavata, Krishna draws attention to an underlying theme, the Vedic theme, of how the mind perceives information differently depending on the level of wisdom. Since there are infinite levels of wisdom, there are infinite ways of seeing the same thing. Only the expanded mind (brahmana) can see infinity (ananta).

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Why Krishna Has to Come When His Other Avatars Will Do the Work

Krsna states it in this very well known verse of the Bhagavad Gita:
"In order to deliver the pious and annihilate the miscreants, as well as to re-establish the principles of religion, I advent Myself millennium after millennium." (Bg. 4.8)
Krsna always has a desire to protect His unalloyed bhaktas, annihilate the wicked, and to re-establish dharma. He therefore descends in every yuga. However, this time when the Lord came as the incarnation for the Kali-yuga[to spread the glories of chanting Hare Krsna], He incorporated another special motive. That motive was to distribute the process of devotional service on the platform of transcendental spontaneous love. "My plenary portions can establish the principles of religion for each age. No one but Me, however, can bestow the kind of loving service performed by the residents of Vraja".